Activity Settings in Pathways

Once you have added your activities in to your pathway, you may then wish to control the sequence the users complete the activities or make an activity optional, therefore not counting towards the completion status of the whole pathway.

You can do this on the Activities tab when viewing the administrator area of the pathway.

Clicking on the Edit link next to each activity allows you to check/edit the Rollup Settings, Sequencing Rules and Registration Settings

Rollup Settings are how the individual activities contribute to the overall status of the pathway. 
Sequencing Rules determine whether certain activities need to be completed in sequence.
Registration Settings determine whether an activity is always registered with the pathway or can be registered separately to appear in the pathway.

 

The options that are ticked by default are the recommended settings but can be amended.
  The table underneath the screenshot explains the settings available. 
Rollup settings
Completion status Remove the tick from this box, if you wish to make an activity optional so the user does not need to complete this activity as part of the pathway to mark it as complete.
Time Spent Leaving this box ticked will show the time a user has spent on a particular activity and will count towards the total time spent on the pathway. This can be helpful when running reports.
Score Leaving this box ticked will show the scores users have obtained on assessments and will count towards the cumulative score for the complete pathway.  Only applicable for assessment activities or if the activity is another pathway containing an assessment. This can be helpful when running reports.
Success Status This box would need to be ticked for assessment activities if the user must pass it for the pathway to be marked as complete. Only applicable for assessment activities or if the activity is another pathway containing an assessment.
Sequencing rules
Must CompleteTicking this box means that the user needs to complete a particular activity before they can move onto the next activity in the sequence. Sequence only includes activities set to Must Complete. Other activities can be completed in any order.
Must Pass Ticking this box means that the user needs to complete a particular activity before they can move onto the next activity in the sequence.
Registration Settings
Automatic (default) This is the default setting and means users will be automatically registered on to the activity at the time they are registered on to the pathway.
ManualUse this setting if you wish to optionally register specific users on a case by case basis. This can be driven by an registration rule. For example, if it only applies to certain roles.


Additional Options if you have added a Diagnostic Assessment


When adding individual activities to a pathway which contains a diagnostic assessment, if one of the activities does not link to questions in the diagnostic question bank, it will not be included within the diagnostic assessment and will be marked as an exempt activity (unless the user chooses to skip the diagnostic assessment and complete all eLearning). Therefore, you have the option to mark the activity as Must Complete, making it mandatory for the user to complete it.

While viewing the Activities tab, click on the Edit drop-down menu for the activity and select Must Complete to ensure the user completes the activity as part of the pathway.


Feedback and Knowledge Base