Registration Rules

How and when to use Registration Rules


Firstly in order to ensure this guidance is clearly understood, the below list outlines some of the terminology used when discussing registration rules and the Unicorn LMS as a whole.
Pathway These used to be known as programmes and are one of the most powerful functions of the Unicorn LMS, allowing you to create pathways of content pulling together all of the content varieties available on your platform.
Activity This term is used to describe any of the separate pieces of content available on the LMS, e.g. eLearning, assessment, event, video, document, form etc.
Registration Rule A set of instructions that tell the system how learning pathways or activities are to be assigned to users and which users are to be included.
Due Date The date upon which a pathway or activity needs to be completed by.
Categories An option that can be created and applied to a user and then used to identify and assign them an activity when using a registration rule.


When to use a Registration Rule?


There are several circumstances when it is beneficial to use a registration rule. Although not an exhaustive list, if your answer to one of the following questions is ‘yes’, then it is worth considering the use of a registration rule:

Does every user on your platform need to complete a particular pathway or activity?

Do you need to register users onto a pathway or activity following the completion of another piece of learning?

Are you planning to enrol a large group of users onto a particular pathway or activity and can that group be identified via a category or hierarchical unit?

Do you need to register users onto a particular pathway or activity based upon the date they were added to your site?

Do you need to register users onto a particular pathway or activity based upon their employment date?

Do users need to complete a pathway or activity on an annual basis?


How to use a Registration Rule


Locate the pathway or activity and access the Common Tasks area. From Find Learning, you can do this by clicking on the Common Tasks button. 


From the Content Manager you can access the Common Tasks by clicking on the title of the pathway or activity.


You can then select Add users from the Common Tasks tab or navigate to the Users tab and select Register.


This initiates the registration process in the form of a three step wizard.

Step 1


The first step allows you to select whether you want to register individual users onto the content or whether you wish to register users via a registration rule. Select the Registration Rule option and click Next.

Step 2


The next step in the wizard involves selecting the criteria that needs to be met to assign the pathway or activity to a user. You must use at least one filter but can use multiple filters if required. The table below the image explains these options in detail.


Filter by units This enables you to choose your audience from the organisation hierarchy that exists on the system, selecting a parent unit (one that contains other smaller units), will give you the option as to whether to include the units below it in the hierarchy.
Filter by categories This enables you to select one or more categories in your selection. Categories are a part of the system that can be configured so that users can be grouped e.g. by job role.
Filter by existing registrations This option would allow you to select users based upon the completion status of this pathway or on the completion status of another activity or pathway, e.g. any user who had completed an introductory course in one subject would then be registered onto an intermediate course via a registration rule.
Filter by user creation date Choose to only register users that were on your system before a certain date or period, or users that have or will join after a certain date.
Filter by employment date Choose to only register users that began their employment before a certain date or period, or users that have been employed or will be employed in the future.

Once you have chosen how the system is to identify the relevant users, click Next.

Step 3


In step 3 of the registration wizard you can determine:
  • When to register
  • The due date
  • If existing registrations need to be reset or cancelled registrations should be re-registered.

1. When to Register
In this section you are able to choose when users should be registered onto your content. This can either be Overnight, Immediately or on a specified future date (On/From field). If Overnight is selected, this will run at 01:00 UTC. Any users who meet the criteria and log in prior to the rule running overnight will be registered on to the content at the time they log in, the system will not wait until overnight for that individual. Therefore Overnight is our recommend setting. It also gives you opportunity to check the rule to confirm there are no mistakes prior to it rolling out en masse to large groups of users overnight. A user who meets the criteria could check the rule by logging in to see if they are then registered on to the correct activity. 

The option to run the rule Immediately will run sometime within a 10 minute loop. 

The option to run the rule on a specified date will run at 01:00 UTC on the date selected in the calendar. 

If you wish to schedule the same rule to run every day over a period of time (e.g. courses for new joiners) then you can tick the Check rule automatically check box. You can either choose for the rule to be scheduled every day until a specified end date or to continue running indefinitely. 

2. Due Date
In this section you are able to set-up a due date for your learning pathway or activity. This date will be visible against the activity in My Activities. This date also determines the RAG status within the My Team Activity dashboard area. As you can see from the example above the due date can be set specifically or via one of the other options which allow you to choose a date from when the user last completed the activity, when a user was created (or employed), a date from when the learning pathway or activity was last due or specify a length of time to complete the activity after it was assigned (selected when you assign the same activity on a regular basis and reset progress back to Not Attempted each time - see point 3 below).

If it is likely the user has been registered on to the activity as part of a different learning pathway, we would recommend selecting the option to Keep the due dates for existing registrations. Any previous due dates given for that activity will be kept and not updated to the new due date.

3. Existing Registrations
In this section you can choose to reset the status of a learning pathway or activity. If a piece of content needs to be completed regularly for compliance reasons, this section determines to reset the activity back to Not Attempted for users who are already registered on to the activity. As with due dates, there are a number of different options that can be chosen depending on your requirements.

If you wish for users which were previously cancelled from the activity to be included and re-registered when the new registration rule is run you can tick the option to Register previously cancelled users and there is an additional option if you would also like their progress to be reset.

How to edit or reschedule a rule


If you have created a rule to run once and wish to reschedule it to run again you can do so by viewing the Activity's Registration Rules History and clicking on the Reschedule link.

Rescheduling the rule will allow you to edit any of the criteria as well as the schedule by working through each step of the wizard. This will effectively create a new registration rule incorporating your amendments which will replace the previous rule. Anyone registered when the previous rule was run will not be affected. 

 

If you have created a recurring rule and wish to change how frequently it is run you can click on the Edit link while viewing the rule in the Registration Rules History. Work through each of the steps of the wizard making the required amendments.

Any amendments to the rule will take effect immediately, which could impact anyone who may be already registered according to the original rule so make sure you have considered carefully the implications of editing the rule before clicking on Finish.

 

Feedback and Knowledge Base